One year after no one was voted in, the National Baseball Hall of Fame announced the election of three players today. Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas all got in on their first appearance on the ballot, marking the first time since 1999 that three players were named.

Eligible candidates needed to be named on 75 percent of the 571 ballots submitted this year by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America, meaning 429 votes were required for election.


Craig Biggio missed the 75 percent cutoff by two votes, tying Nellie Fox in 1985 and Pie Traynor in 1947 for the smallest margin in balloting history.

In addition to those above, the Class of 2014 will include managers Joe Torre, Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox, all of whom were elected unanimously on the Expansion Era Ballot in December, as well as Ford C. Frick Award winner Eric Nadel and Spink Award winner Roger Angell.

Enshrinement will take place in Cooperstown, N.Y. on July 27.