Listen Live on  

NewsRadio KFBK

Sacramento's News, Weather and Traffic Station

San Antonio Spurs Defeat the Miami Heat to Win the NBA Championship

San Antonio Spurs Defeat the Miami Heat to Win the NBA Championship
Posted June 15th, 2014 @ 7:00pm by KFBK News

The San Antonio Spurs defeated the Miami Heat in game five of the series 104-87 to win the NBA Championship.

The Miami Heat started the game strong and took an early lead that was as high as 16 points at times. LeBron James scored 17 points and raked in six rebounds in the first quarter.

But the San Antonio Spurs played aggressively and had a seven point lead by the end of the first half.

The Spurs stormed back scoring 41-18 in the first half after falling behind by 16 points.

The Spurs saw great performances from several players including Manu Ginobili and Kawhi Leonard. Leonard was named the Bill Russell MVP of the finals.

Once the Spurs recovered the lead, there was no looking back, and the Heat never made a come back.

The Heat were going into the game with a 3-1 deficit -- winning only game two of the series. No team has ever come back to win the championship with that record. 

The Heat took on the Spurs in last year's finals and won the Championship in a seven-game series.

The Spurs are celebrating their fifth NBA Championship in the past 15 years.

Recommended Stories

More from NewsRadio KFBK