Initiative Aims to Split California Into Thirds

Tim Draper, a billionaire Silicon Valley investor, wants to divide the Golden State into three states. Draper filed documents for a proposed ballot measure with the State Attorney General’s office Friday. The proposal calls for a new state called California comprised of Los Angeles, Ventura, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, and Monterey counties.

Getty Images

The state of Southern California encompasses Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Imperial, Kings, Kern, Inyo, Fresno, Madera and Mono counties. The 40 counties remaining would make up the state of Northern California.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

NewsRadio KFBK · Sacramento's News, Weather and Traffic Station
Listen Now on iHeartRadio