What The Latest COVID Guidelines Mean For You

A month-long COVID-19 stay at home order takes effect Saturday night for 41 of California's 58 counties. State health officials say all Purple Tier counties, which includes Sacramento County, fall under the curfew that runs from 10:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. each night through December 21st.

The tightening of restrictions comes as California health officials say the state has recorded another record-breaking number in daily coronavirus cases. They reported more than 13,000 new cases on Friday.

People in California must wear face coverings when they are outside of their home, according to health officials. Exemptions include:

  • Driving in a vehicle or working in a room alone
  • When actively eating or drinking, provided that six feet of distance can be maintained
  • Outdoors when at least six feet of distance can be maintained at all times
  • Medical exemptions 

The 17 counties which are not in the Purple Tier don't have to comply with the curfew or other parts of the state order for now. Those counties include Lake, Colusa, Plumas, Amador, Modoc, and Mono counties. However, their status could change next Tuesday when the state updates the seven-day averages for new COVID cases and positivity rates for each county.

Those who are affected by the curfew restrictions are residents and businesses owners or employees not deemed essential or critical infrastructure.