California Restricting Official Travel To Five States Over Transgender Laws


Photo: AFP

California is restricting official travel to Florida and four other states because of their transgender laws.

Attorney General Rob Bonta announced that California will ban taxpayer-funded travel to not only Florida, but also Arkansas, Montana, North Dakota and West Virginia because those states have placed restrictions on transgender athletes who want to play sports. Altogether, California now has 17 states on the prohibited list. The California ban stems from a 2016 law designed to push back against discrimination.

"Make no mistake: We're in the midst of an unprecedented wave of bigotry and discrimination in this country — and the State of California is not going to support it," Bonta said.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content