Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Assoc Lists Frugal Lawmakers

California's leading taxpayer protection organization, the Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association, has come out with a report card designed to help you know how your state representatives are doing with taxpayer-related issues, including tax increases and direct attacks on Proposition 13.

For 2018 a total of 13 legislators have received perfect scores: Assembly Members Catharine Baker, Frank Bigelow, Bill Brough, Phil Chen, Heath Flora, Kevin Kiley, Tom Lackey, Devon Mathis, Melissa Melendez, Jay Obernolte, Marc Steinorth and Randy Voepel, and State Senator Mike Morrell.


In a statement the HJTA said it is very important that the process of grading lawmakers be as fair and nonpartisan as possible.   That is why they give half credit to any member of the Senate or Assembly for abstentions during taxpayer-related issues.  The release also noted that they believe those "legislators with the courage to abstain as opposed to always pushing the green button should be rewarded in some fashion."  The HJTA specifically pointed to Democratic legislators, Sabrina Cervantes and Sharon Quirk-Silva.  They both received “B” grades, their best scores ever.

To find the score for a specific lawmaker, please click here.


Content Goes Here