Top Stories

Sacramento's Latest News


New CA Law Extends Covid-19 Sick Leave Protections - Check Who Qualifies

California is enacting new sick leave policies for employees through a new law allowing for 80 hours of supplemental sick time for Covid-19 related illness or time missed at work. KFBK's Jensen Rader breaks down the new law and spoke with experts on how it works...

sick leave

By law, here is what reasons are protected for full or part time employees:

  • is subject to a quarantine or isolation period per order or guideline of the California Department of Public Health, the CDC, or a local health officer
  • has been advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine due to COVID-19
  • is attending a COVID-19 vaccine appointment
  • cannot work or telework due to vaccine-related symptoms
  • experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical diagnosis
  • is a care taker for a family member who is subject to a the qualifications listed above
  • is caring for a child whose school or place of care is closed or otherwise unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19 on the premises

This bill is retroactive starting on January 1st, 2021 so any sick time used this year for any of the above reasons, will qualify for the 80 hours of supplemental time.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content