The Afternoon News with Kitty O'Neal

The Afternoon News with Kitty O'Neal

Want to know more about Kitty O'Neal? Get her official bio, social pages and more!Full Bio


Mick Martin: The Sacramento Blues Society's 14th Annual Hall of Fame Awards

 Sacramento Blues Society's " 14th Annual Hall of Fame Awards" set for Sunday, September 25 at Harlow's

Sunday, Sept. 25


2708 J St./Sacramento

Doors: 1pm

Event: 1:45pm-5pm

Tix: SBS members: $15, GA-$20

Advance tix highly encouraged

Mick Martin

This is the 14th anniversary of the popular afternoon-into-evening event. The Hall of Fame honorees are chosen each year in recognition of their contributions to the preservation and promotion of the blues

 in Sacramento for at least 20 years.

This years inductees are:

Chris Fraire

Leigh Lunetta

Chris Martinez

John Noxon


(Full bios of all inductees are on the SBS website: HTTPS://WWW.SACBLUES.ORG/HALL-OF-FAME1.HTML

The special musical presentation this year is a 90-minute multimedia and live theatrical work, "A Blues Revue." Written by SBS member Nan Mahon, and with Musical Director/HOF member

Mick Martin, the "Revue" encompasses the vast historical locale-driven story of the ground-breaking genre told in eleven "chapters"-- from Classic Women Blues to Delta Blues to New Orleans Blues, Memphis Blues, 

West Coast Blues, Chicago Blues, on all the way up to modern day Austin, Texas Blues.

The production includes fifteen SBS member/performers, many of whom are HOF members themselves, and will include two of the 2022 HOF class, Chris Fraire & Leigh Lunetta.

Performing are:

Ray "Catfish" Copeland

Chris Fraire

Derek Fresquez

Beth Reid Grigsby

RW Grigsby

Stephen Kimball

Katie Knipp

Leigh Lunetta

Gary Mendoza

Todd Morgan

Pinkie Rideau

Kyle Rowland

Andy Santana

Marcel Smith

Marilyn Woods

As in years past, the after-event showcase/jam is at the Torch Club from 6 pm-8pm.

The south wall of the Torch Club is the SBS Hall of Fame Wall where framed photos of all HOF winners are located. Past inductees include Mick Martin, Johnny Heartsman, Arbess Williams, Rick Estrin and Lil Charlie Baty, Ray "Catfish" Copeland, and the Texiera Family, owners of the Torch Club since 1934.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content